Removing users from journeys is just as important as adding them. After all, you don't want to keep sending messages to users after the content is no longer relevant to them! Here's everything you need to know about removing users from your journeys.
In this article
Options for removing users from journeys
There are several ways users can be removed from journeys.
Any tile that isn't connected to another tile in a journey is an exit point. Keep this in mind as you build a journey. You can intentionally leave a tile unconnected if you want users to exit the journey after they finish that tile. But remember not to leave a tile unconnected if you want users to continue beyond that step in the journey!
If you want users who reach the end of a path in one of your journeys to be added to another sequence, add a Send to journey tile to the end of the path.
You can use filter tiles to remove users at different stages of the journey. For example, if you want to remove any users who don't match the conditions of an Attribute split tile, leave the Everyone else branch unconnected. Users who don't match any of the criteria you've set up will be sent down this path and be removed from the journey.
Alternatively, you can uncheck the Add an "Everyone else" branch when you're setting up the Attribute Split tile. Users who don't match any of the criteria you've set up will be removed from the journey.
Exit rules automatically remove users from a journey when they complete a desired action or one of their user attributes changes.
For example, let's say you want users to be removed from the journey if they
unsubscribe from your newsletter. You could set up an exit rule that checks for
Unsubscribe event for your Newsletter Subscribers list and removes the
user from the journey as soon as one is found.
Exit rules are different from filter tiles because they apply to the entire journey, not just a specific step. So no matter where the user is in the journey, as soon as they meet your exit rule criteria, they'll stop receiving messages that are no longer relevant to them. This gives you greater flexibility and lets you accomplish your goals using fewer tiles!
You can set up as many exit rules in a journey as you like. Users only need to match the criteria for one of your exit rules to be removed from a journey. So if you’ve set up three exit rules in a journey, when a user meets the criteria for Rule 1 (or Rule 2 or Rule 3), they’ll be removed from the journey.
Users who meet the criteria for one of your exit rules are removed from the journey when they finish the tile they're on. The only exception to this is if a user is in a Time Delay tile when they match your exit rule criteria — they will be removed from the journey within 48 hours of the occurrence of the event or user profile update, or before moving to the next tile (whichever comes first).
Exit rules check for an event or a change in a user attribute while users are in a journey. If a user has a particular attribute when they enter the journey, and that attribute doesn’t change, they won’t be removed from the journey.
If you want to exclude users from a journey if they already have a certain attribute on their user profile (and may have been removed from the journey previously via exit rules), consider setting up entry rules in the Start tile to filter them out.
Handlebars expressions are not supported in exit rules.
Failed webhook calls
If a webhook call fails for one of your users, the user will exit the journey. Keep this in mind as you set up any Call webhook and User profile tiles you've added to your journey.
See Journey Webhooks to learn more.
When you delete tiles from a live journey, any users who are in those tiles at the time you publish your changes will be removed from the journey.
Turning a journey off
When you turn a journey off, users who are in the journey will be removed after they complete the step they're on. However, if the journey is turned back on while a user is still in a Time Delay tile, the user is not removed from the journey when they reach the end of their delay — they proceed to the next tile.
If you don't want to remove any users from the journey, but you want to prevent new users from entering it, disconnect the Start tile.
Removing users at a specific point in the journey
If you want to remove users at a specific point in the journey, use a filter tile.
Let's say you want to remove users who aren't engaging with a promo sequence. You could add a Yes/No Split tile that checks for an open or click after a message tile. If you want to remove users who haven't opened or clicked the message, leave the "No" branch unconnected.
Removing users as soon as an action occurs
If you want to remove users when a certain event occurs — no matter where they are in the journey — use an exit rule. (For example, if you want users to be removed from a promo sequence as soon as they make a purchase.)
To add exit rules to a journey, click Exit rules in the lower left of Studio.
As you're setting up your exit rules, think about whether you want users to be removed from the journey when they meet a single condition or a group of conditions:
If you want to remove users only when they have met multiple criteria, add a single exit rule with multiple conditions. Use the + Condition button to add each additional condition to the exit rule.
If you want to remove users who match at least one of many separate
conditions (or groups of conditions), add multiple exit rules to the journey. Use the + Add rule button to add each additional rule.
Want to learn more?
For more information about some of the topics in this article, check out this Iterable Academy course. Iterable Academy is open to everyone — you don't need to be an Iterable customer!